The Garden of Eden?

Pandora's Box

“Of course she had to know what was in the box since she was possessed by a lively curiosity. One day she lifted the lid and out flew plagues, sorrow and mischief for mankind. In terror Pandora tried to shut the lid, but it was too late. The only thing left in the box was hope.”

I have been very slack with keeping this blog up to date!  The year of the horse is galloping by like the wild stallion that it is. So much is happening and I have barely written a thing.  I feel like I have definitely become distracted with the physical world of late.  Not finding enough time for inner exploration, and even choosing to watch TV rather than meditate or to surf the net instead of read.  Naughty naughty…  That being said, I have still managed to make some interesting realisations and receive some very strong messages in the past few weeks.

As you know, I feel a strong affinity for the Sumerian Priestess, Enheduanna.  I feel drawn to her and am interested in knowing more about the time in which she lived and how this early civilisation has shaped the world as we know it.  How did human society shift so drastically in it’s respect and admiration for feminine wisdom and power to the repression and fear we have been experiencing since the crumble of this ancient society and the rise of religion as we know it today?

Sumer and it’s surrounds, in what is now known as Iraq, was the world’s first large scale civilisation.  People from surrounding small villages, living idyllic lives in riverside huts in what was the glorious wetlands of ancient southern Iraq started to uproot and converge on this new modern existence.  In the city, people worked together to create an easier more structured life.  People were safe within clay walls and food and water was readily available.  As word spread, more people converged and the city grew and grew.  How could anyone return to their simple existence in the Garden after knowing the glory of the city with its awe inspiring structures and wise rulers?  Unfortunately it would not last, for a large city requires a large amount of resources and the land surrounding the city was stripped and polluted.  Crops eventually failed, its people suffered famine and disease and eventually Sumer was conquered by the Semites.  Their Gods had forsaken them and soon the ancient folk stories of Sumer would make way for the bible we all know today.  A Bible in which God is vengeful and women must submit to their husbands and fathers.  If you are up to date with your history (or simply watch the news) you will know that this part of the world has continued to be defeated and controlled by foreign rulers ever since.  Women have been fiercely controlled and subdued and religion has been used as a political weapon to maintain control over the masses.

I feel like I am only seeing the tip of the iceberg at the moment.  I am hoping that this awareness will lead to great things; that I can share my knowledge with others as they share with me.  I have hope for a better world.  A peaceful world.  A truthful world.

About Ancient Woman

I'm ancient, not in chronological age, but in consciousness. I am on a journey to remember and gain access to my source and I will share my insights on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment